

FUTURE HEALTH AND TRANSFORMATIVE TECHOLOGIES 2022 AAHMS ANNUAL MEETING

13 - 14 October 2022 WEHI, Melbourne

*Program in development – correct as of 29 September 2022

Thursday 13 October 2022		
8.30 am	Registration	
9.10 am	WELCOME TO COUNTRY	
9.20 am	WELCOME Professor Flavia Cicuttini AM FAHMS, Chair, VIC/TAS State Branch Professor Ingrid Scheffer AO FRS FAA PresAHMS, President, AAHMS	
9.30 am	Future health systems Chair: Professor Flavia Cicuttini AM FAHMS	
9.30 am	KEYNOTE ADDRESS Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite FAHMS, Foundation Director, Australian Institute of Health Innovation, Macquarie University	
10.10 am	Panel discussion: Professor Russell Gruen FAHMS, Dean, College of Health and Medicine, The Australian National University Professor Anne Kavanagh FASSA, Professor of Disability and Health, University of Melbourne Associate Professor Jo-Anne Manski-Nankervis, Associate Professor in General Practice, University of Melbourne Professor James Ward, Director, University of Queensland Poche Centre	
11.00am	Morning tea	
11.30 am	Future health systems – harnessing research for better health Chair: Professor Christina Mitchell AO FAHMS	
11.30 am	Brief presentation of the project conclusions and recommendations Professor Christina Mitchell AO FAHMS, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences, Monash University and Chair AAHMS policy project on harnessing research for better health	
11.45 am	Panel discussion: Chair: Professor Christina Mitchell AO FAHMS Professor Sandra Eades AO FASSA FAHMS Associate Dean Indigenous, Rowden-White Chair, The University of Melbourne Professor Caroline Homer AO FAHMS, (working group member) Co-Program Director, Maternal and Child Health, Burnet Institute Professor Euan Wallace AM FAHMS, Secretary, Victoria Department of Health	

	Professor Steve Webb FAHMS – Group Director of Research, St John of God Healthcare; Professor of Critical Care Research, Monash University
12.30 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	Big ideas to address health inequalities Chair: Professor James Beeson FAHMS
	4 x 5 minute 'pitches' for big ideas to address health inequalities in Australia, followed by panel discussion
	Professor Fran Baum AO FASSA FAHMS, NHMRC Investigator; Program Director, Stretton Health Equity, The University of Adelaide
	Professor Jane Fisher AO, Head, Division of Social Sciences, Monash University Dr Veronica Matthews, Senior Research Fellow, The University Centre for Rural Health, University of Sydney
	Associate Professor Peter Azzopardi, Adolescent Health Group Lead, Burnet Institute
2.40 pm	NEW FELLOWS' PRESENTATIONS SESSION 1 Chair: Professor Stephen O'Leary FAHMS
	Short talks from a selection of the new 2022 AAHMS Fellows
3.40 pm	Afternoon tea
4.10 pm	AAHMS AGM
	For AAHMS Fellows and Associate Members Including updates from AAHMS Mentorship and Reports Committees
5.30 pm	Close
6.30 pm - 10.30 pm approx	GALA DINNER Melbourne Museum
	Fellows, Associate Members and invited guests Presentation of AAHMS New Fellows, CSL Centenary Fellowships and AAHMS Honorific Awards

Friday 14 October 2022		
8.00 am	New Fellows' Breakfast Welcome breakfast (private event) for new AAHMS Fellows and AAHMS Council	
9.00 am	Arrivals and late registrations	
9.15 am	WELCOME Professor Flavia Cicuttini AM FAHMS, Chair, VIC/TAS State Branch Professor Steve Wesselingh FAHMS	
9.20 am	Communicating health in the new media landscape Chair: Professor Susan Davis AO FAHMS	
9.20 am	KEYNOTE ADDRESS Professor Claire Wardle, Professor, School of Public Health, Brown University; Cofounder and Executive Chair, First Draft	

10.00 am	Panel Discussion: Professor Claire Wardle, Professor, School of Public Health, Brown University; Cofounder and Executive Chair, First Draft
	Ms Ariel Bogle, Journalist, ABC
	Dr Sandro Demaio, CEO, Victorian Health Promotion Foundation (VicHealth)
	Professor Kirsten McCaffery FAHMS, NHMRC Principal Research Fellow, University of Sydney
10.45 am	Morning tea
11.15 am	NEW FELLOWS' PRESENTATIONS SESSION 2
	Chair: Professor Stephen Kent FAHMS
	Short talks from a selection of the new 2022 AAHMS Fellows
12.15 pm	Lunch
1.00 pm	Transformative technologies in health Chair: Professor Gail Risbridger FAHMS
	Professor Dietmar Hutmacher FAHMS, Professor and Chair of Regenerative Medicine, Institute of Health and Biomedical Innovation, Queensland University of Technology Professor Ralph Maddison, Professor in Physical Activity and Disease Prevention, Deakin University Professor Svetha Venkatesh, Co-Director, A212, Alfred Deakin Professor, Deakin University Professor David Winkler, Professor, Monash University
2.00 pm	Developing transformative health technologies in Australia – cultivating innovation and entrepreneurship Chair: Prof Andrew Wilks FTSE FAHMS, Executive Chairman at SYNthesis med chem, CEO at SYNthesis Research, CEO at Catalyst Tx
	Panel discussion:
	Dr Anne-Laure Puaux, Head, Biotechnology and Commercialisation, WEHI
	Additional speakers to be advised
2.50 pm	CLOSING REMARKS
	Professor Flavia Cicuttini AM FAHMS, Chair, VIC/TAS State Branch
	Professor Steve Wesselingh FAHMS
3.00 PM	MEETING CLOSE